PBA New and Returning Board and Advisory Councils Announced

The Professional Beauty Association (PBA) has announced the association’s leadership for the 2016/2017 term. Reuben Carranza, Group President, R+Co & V76, Luxury Brand Partners will continue to serve as Chairman of the Board and Beth Hickey, with Spa Specialties Representatives will continue to serve as Vice-Chairman. 

The PBA Board of Directors is comprised of 12 industry professionals who represent various sectors of the beauty industry. The following are the industry professionals who will serve on the Board of Directors for the 2016/2017 term:  Kevin Barrett (Fromm International), Sydney Berry, (Salon Services and Supplies), Scott Buchanan (Scott j salon group), Reuben Carranza (Luxury Brand Partners), Mark Goodman (The Hair Designers), Beth Hickey (Spa Specialties Representatives), Harlan Kirschner (Kirschner Group), Graciela Santiler-Nowik (Hair Base Salon & Spa), Renee Shakour (RG Shakour), Oliver Steinnagel (Oliver’s Hair Salon), Karl Sweis (Sweis Professional Salon & Spa Products), and Rowena Yeager (Studio Wish Salon). Edwin Neill III’s (Neill Corporation) Board term is expiring and he will be leaving the Board.

“It’s an honor to have such a diverse and experienced Board of Directors volunteer their time and resources to support the Professional Beauty Association.  I am looking forward to this upcoming year, as we work to implement our new strategic direction. The Association and the industry will no doubt be positively impacted by their leadership,” said PBA Executive Director, Steve Sleeper. “I also want to sincerely thank our outgoing Board and Advisory Council members. These volunteer leaders have been instrumental in helping move the Professional Beauty Association’s mission forward.”

In addition to the Board of Directors, PBA’s governance model includes four Advisory Councils.  These councils are as follows: Beauty Professional/NCA, Distributor, Manufacturer and Salon/Spa. Members of these six-person councils serve as an ongoing resource to provide recommendations and advice to the PBA Board of Directors.

Advisory Council Membership for 2016/2017 is as follows:

Beauty Professional/NCA Advisory Council: Marcia Bird** (Raritan Valley Community College), Jenae Davis (Salon Jenae), Mark Goodman (The Hair Designers), Beth Hickey** (Spa Specialties Representatives), Steven Porter (Steven Porter Hair), and Peggy Sue Schmoldt (Academy of Cosmetology Arts).

Distributor Advisory Council: Jennifer Almonte (Professional Salon Services), Sydney Berry (Salon Services and Supplies), Brandon Ranney (Armstrong McCall), Alex Cohn* (Premier Beauty Supply), Ed Stein* (Four Star Beauty) and Karl Sweis (Sweis Professional Salon & Spa Products).

Manufacturer Advisory Council:  Kevin Barrett** (Fromm International), Reuben Carranza** (Luxury Brand Partners), Scott Hagstrom (Helen of Troy), Sara Jones (Joico Laboratories), Harlan Kirschner (Kirschner Group), and Colin Walsh (DevaCurl).

Salon/Spa Advisory Council: Bonnie Conte** (Avalon Salon and Day Spa), Cindy Feldman* (Progressions Salon Spa Store), Kimberly Johnson (Aveda Institute Portland), Oliver Steinnagel (Oliver’s Hair Salon), Rowena Yeager (Studio Wish Salon), and Holly Vaught (K Charles & Company Salons).

PBA also thanked the following out-going Advisory Council Members: Scott Buchanan (Scott j salon group), Edward Neill III (Neill Corporation) and Renee Shakour (RG Shakour). 

*Indicates a newly elected Advisory Council Member

**Indicates a re-elected Advisory Council Member 


For reprint and licensing requests for this article, Click here.