Missouri, Michigan and Alabama Beauty Pros, Take Note

By Anne Moratto | 04/13/2012 9:48:00 PM

 

 

The Professional Beauty Association (PBA) recently shared some bad news and some good news.  Bad news first.  In Michigan and Missouri, two bills are being proposed that would make it legal to "engage in the occupation of cosmetology without a license" (Missouri) and would deregulate licensing for barbers (Michigan). This type of legislation lowers standards in our industry and serves to delegitimize beauty as a profession.

Now the good news. In Alabama, a bill is being proposed to put regulation in place and to establish the the Alabama Board of Barbering and Cosmetology.

The PBA has made it easy to notify your representatives and tell them you say 'all right' in Alabama but 'epic fail' in Missouri and Michigan. Please see below and act now.

Missouri Legislative Update!

Representative Nick Marshall of the Missouri State Legislature has introduced House Bill 2082. HB2082 allows any person to engage in the occupation of cosmetology without a license. HB2082 is currently in the Professional Registration and Licensing committee.  

 Click here if you are a Missouri resident and would like to sign onto our letter OPPOSING HB2082.  

 You may also email the bill sponsor and committee members directly:

Representative Nick Marshall - Nick.Marshall@house.mo.gov 

Professional Registration and Licensing Committee 

Ellen.Brandom@house.mo.gov; Eric.Burlison@house.mo.gov; Sue.Allen@house.mo.gov; Chris.Carter@house.mo.gov; Kevin.Elmer@house.mo.gov; Diane.Franklin@house.mo.govWard.Franz@house.mo.gov; Keith.Frederick@house.mo.gov; Caleb.Jones@house.mo.gov; Bart.Korman@house.mo.gov; Michele.Kratky@house.mo.gov; Bill.Lant@house.mo.gov; Donna.Lichtenegger@house.mo.gov; Gail.Beatty@house.mo.gov; Mary.Nichols@house.mo.gov; Vicki.Schneider@house.mo.gov; Scott.Sifton@house.mo.gov; Jason.Smith@house.mo.gov; Jay.Swearingen@house.mo.gov; Steve.Webb@house.mo.gov; Don.Wells@house.mo.gov

 Michigan Legislative Update! 

 House Bill 5517 in Michigan seeks to deregulate licensing for barbers. This legislation will repeal the occupational code that defines and states requirements for barber licensing, barber instructor licensing, and barber school licensing. 

 Click here if you are a Michigan resident and would like to sign onto out letter OPPOSING HB5517.  The primary sponsor of this bill is Representative Tom McMillin.  HB5517 is currently in the committee on Regulatory Reform.  

 You may also email the bill sponsor and committee members directly:

Representative Tom McMillin - TomMcMillin@house.mi.gov

Committee Clerk - sjones@senate.michigan.gov 

 Alabama Legislative Update!

 HB664 would create the Alabama Board of Barbering and Cosmetology. This bill would provide for the regulation of cosmetologists, barbers, estheticians, manicurists, and natural hairstylists and their shops and schools under a new registration board, known as the Alabama Board of Barbering and Cosmetology.  House Bill 664 is currently in the Boards, Agencies and Commissions committee.  

 Express your support for HB664, if you are a resident of Alabama please click here to sign onto our letter of support.

 You may also email your support directly to the bill sponsor Representative Kurt Wallace at representativewallace@gmail.com

 

 

RELATED ARTICLES

No matching related articles at this time.

 

SHARE THIS

ABOUT THE AUTHOR: Anne Moratto

Anne Moratto’s well-rounded beauty career includes years in beauty public relations, beauty marketing, beauty manufacturing, and now, with MODERN SALON, in beauty publishing. The through-line has been an intense interest in all things beauty and a sincere appreciation for the skilled artists and entrepreneurs who make the industry so vital, compelling and creative. Anne, a native of Wisconsin, lives with her family in Los Angeles, CA, and is MODERN SALON’s West Coast Beauty and Special Markets Editor. She can be reached at amoratto@vancepublishing.com

 


Comments (0) Leave a comment 

Name
e-Mail (required)
Location

Comment:

characters left