Management Practices

BREAKING NEWS: Congratulations to 2013 NAHA Winners!

Lauren Salapatek | July 14, 2013 | 11:17 PM
Photo 1 of 4
NAHA Trophy
Photo 2 of 4
DImitrios Tsioumas, Master Stylist of the Year
Photo 3 of 4
Allen Ruiz, 2013 Hairdresser of the Year
Photo 4 of 4

It’s the most prestigious event in beauty, recognizing the incredible talents of salon professionals all over the continent. Tonight MODERN SALON Media, a proud founder of NAHA, brings to you the list of winners presented at the North American Hairstyling Awards in Las Vegas (during the Cosmoprof North America Conference).

MODERN had the honor of broadcasting the event LIVE. Thousands tuned in as each award was announced by an industry leader. MODERN Editors Maggie Mulhern and Alison Shipley broadcasted the pre-show LIVE from the red carpet, interviewing beauty professionals attending the ceremony, and MODERN live-streamed the event at (watch now!). To add to the excitement, MODERN also presented on stage the Newcomer of the Year award.  

Celebrating 14 unique categories, each of the 70 finalists and hundreds of other entrants put hours of work into their entries. Two innovative categories were introduced this year, the Make-Up Artist of the Year category (recognition was only available if you were included with a finalist in an already existing category, now it’s a category in itself,) and the Men’s category, which according to NAHA Chair Renee Shakour, it’s proved to be not only a success but one of the most popular this year.

The event was emceed by Celebrity Speaker, Mario Lopez, who also received the Beautiful Humanitarian award, which recognizes a public figure who has a sincere commitment to giving back while being beautiful on both the inside and outside.

Congratulations to the 2013 NAHA winners!

Avant Garde: Matt Swinney, Evolution in Minneapolis, MN

Contemporary Classic: Geno Chapman, Julian August in Los Angeles, CA

Editorial Stylist of the Year: Sherri Jessee, Sherri’s Hair Salon in Bristol, VA

Hair Color: Sue Pemberton, Sue Pemberton LLC in Henderson, NV

Hairstylist of the Year: Allen Ruiz Jackson, Ruiz Salon in Austin, TX

Make-Up Artist of the Year: Katy Albright, Katy Albright in Waxhaw, NC

Master Hairstylist of the Year: Dimitrios Tsioumas, Mizu NY in New York, NY

Men’s Hairstylist of the Year: Matthew Morris, Matthew Morris Salon and Skincare in Denver, CO

Newcomer Stylist of the Year: Jeremy McDougle, Lunatic Fringe Salon in Salt Lake City, UT

People's Choice Award— Dimitrios Tsioumas, Mizu NY in New York, NY

Student Hairstylist of the Year: Stormie Roberts, Eric Fisher Academy in Wichita, KS

Salon Team of the Year: Lunatic Fringe Salon in Salt Lake City, UT

Salon Design: John and Jenni Kanski, Mitch’s Men’s Salon in Normal, IL

Salon MBA: Susan Haise, Neroli Salon & Spa in Milwaukee, WI

Texture: Anthony Cress, Studio 4 Salon in Newport Beach, CA

Facebook Comments

More from Management Practices

Management Practices
Management Practices

The Experiential Power of Beauty

October 25, 2017

In an effort to continue attracting a young, fashion-forward shopper and drive overall store traffic, JCPenney reinvents its salon concept with The Salon by InStyle while also rolling out Sephora inside JCPenney. Natalie Lockhart, vice president of salon at JCPenney tells us how this strategy is working out.

Load More